If you’re a parent in search of the perfect time to move your child from a child safety seat to a regular seat, you’ll probably receive numerous answers.
Florida’s car seat laws determine the very minimum legal amount of time your child should be in a car seat. To decide what’s best for your child, however, there are other recommendations to take into consideration.
Florida’s Car Seat Laws
According to Florida law, it’s the direct responsibility of an adult to make sure that children riding in his or her vehicle are properly secured while inside the vehicle. The requirements are determined by the child’s age:
- Children 0-3 years: These children must be secured in a separate carrier device or a child seat integrated by the manufacturer.
- Children 4-5 years: Children this age must be secured in a separate carrier, an integrated seat, or a child’s booster seat while on the road.
- Children 6-17 years: These children must be wearing a seatbelt at all times.
Failing to follow these rules can result in as much as a $60 fine and points against your Florida driver’s license.
Ensuring Your Child’s Safety
When it comes to making sure your child is safe in your vehicle, the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) recommends that parents make judgements based on their child’s height. Although Florida law doesn’t adhere to these recommendations, it’s important for parents to know what may be safest for their children.
According to the AAP, children should remain in booster seats until they reach 4 feet 9 inches tall, regardless of weight or height. Some children may not transition out of this type of seat until age 8 or 9. However, until their height reaches 4’ 9”, keeping them in a booster seat may be the safest option due to the design of the vehicle.
For more information about staying safe after an accident, or even preventing one in the first place, visit our Personal Injury Guide. Contact our Tampa car accident attorneys if you or a loved one were seriously injured in a crash and require legal assistance.