As 2018 forges ahead, several new legal requirements and laws are going into effect across the state of Florida. In case you missed it, here’s what you can expect to change this new year.
For 2018, the minimum wage for Florida workers will rise to $8.25 for regular employees and $5.23 for tipped employees. This is a fifteen cent raise from 2017 for both types of employees. The minimum wage was raised based on the consumer price index (CPI) as voted on by Florida residents in 2004.
Divorced parents often find it impossible to create a co-parenting schedule. In these instances, courts typically order a parenting plan to be put into place. For 2018, a new standard plan will be available to couples that covers:
- Every other weekend (from Friday at 6pm to Sunday at 6pm)
- One evening every week
- All holiday breaks
It’s important to note that this new standard plan doesn’t apply to situations involving abuse allegations.
Uber and Lyft Regulations
A bill passed late last year which created statewide regulations for rideshare apps like Lyft and Uber. These new regulations mean that in 2018 these rideshare companies will no longer have to abide by local government laws put in place.
Health insurers are now required to offer their customers the option to synchronize their medications. This means customers can align the dates of all of their prescription refills. This option is to be offered at least once per year.
It can be hard to keep up with the legal ups and downs in the state of Florida. However, if you’re injured in an accident, an understanding of the law is key. Let the team at Lorenzo & Lorenzo put our extensive legal knowledge to work for you. Contact us today for a free consultation of your case to see how we can help.